6th CAREER4SEA Virtual Forum Dec 14, 2022.
February 24, 2023
From all the Officers and Crew of MT PROTEUS / EMPIRE NAVIGATION
February 25, 2022

Lets' Win the Year Luncheon for our Members Jan 30, 2023

PROJECT CONNECT held its New Year’s Members luncheon themed “Let’s Win the Year” on January 31st at the Piraeus Maritime Club to celebrate receiving the “Achievement in Education or Training Award” from Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards 2022, and to acknowledge appreciation for the valuable contributions and sustained support provided by its 65 members, founders, and educators.

PROJECT CONNECT founder, Ms. Irene Notias, stressed that "hard work pays off". Her mindset was also echoed by Mr. Nikos Efthimiadis of Lotus Shipping, founding member and luncheon sponsor. The other sponsors were Grace Trading, Phoenix Shipping & Trading, and Steel Ships.

Tribute for their consistent & valuable contribution, was given to first members Mr. Yannis Xylas, Mr. George Gourdomichalis, Mr. Alexandros Glykas, PROJECT CONNECT Chairman Mr. Nikolaos Tsalamanios, Capt. Dimitrios Mattheou, in addition to, Honorary Chairman Mr. George Tsavliris for introducing the idea of Adopt a Ship. All were presented with unique commemorative sculptures of vessels made by the late artist, EVA DIVARI.

A videotaped congratulatory message was delivered by Ms. Niki Kerameos, Minister of Education and Religious Affairs. She described the program as “a hub that connects more and more students with our long-standing maritime tradition through experiential learning.” It was during her tenure as Minister that ADOPT-a-SHIP has flourished and grown throughout Greece. She will soon be presented with a commemorative steel sculpture - by Eva Divari - the bow of a ship symbolizing she is at the forefront of maritime education in the Greek school system.

The luncheon’s honorary guest was Mrs. Eugenia Manolidou, Head of Greek Education Studies at the School of Ancient Greek, History and Philosophy. Among many supportive comments, she stressed the importance of seafaring in the consciousness of the Greeks since ancient times and how this can – and should – be promoted to future generations of Greek students.

The accomplishments of PROJECT CONNECT (Adopt a Ship, Online CV Platform, 3D Virtual Shipping Company Tour) benefit the youth of today and strengthen the shipping industry of tomorrow. Ms. Notias presented 2023’s targets & plans for future: (1) Double the membership, (2) Increase internships & entry level job placements, (3) Continue Adopt a Ship growth to 200 vessels, and (4) to successfully kick-start a series of sponsored internships “In Memory Of” passed shipping personalities and their inspiring role.

PROJECT CONNECT is an initiative of hope which actively promotes change and competitiveness for a better future for Greek youth, Greek shipping, and Greece.

Members, institutions that attended: Antonios & Ioannis Angelicoussis Foundation. Alassia Newships Management. Ariston Navigation Corp. Bernhard Schulte Shipmanagement (Hellas). Capital Executive Ship Management. Chandris (Hellas). Chronos Shipping. Costamare Shipping. Cyprus Sea Lines. D. Koronakis. Danaos Shipping. Diana Shipping Services. Dynamarine. Elnavi Shipping Magazine. Empire Chemical Tankers. Empire Navigation. Eurobulk. GAC Shipping. GANMAR Shipping. Jeanne D' Arc. Load Line Marine. Lotus Shipping. Marchand Navigation. Marine Tours. maritimes.gr. Metropolitan College. MyPhilo. Oceanbulk Maritime. Phoenix Shipping Trading. Polforce Shipping. Queensway Navigation. Seanergy Maritime Holdings. Seaven Group. Sevenseas Investment Funds. Shipowners Claims Bureau. Sing Fuels. Starbulk. SteelShips. Technomar Shipping. The American P&I Club. The Swedish Club of Piraeus.

Amongst honored guests: Mrs. Katerina Potamianou, PROJECT CONNECT Ambassador. Mr. Evangelos Angelakos (Angelakos). Mr. George Xiradakis (XRTC). Mr. George Alexandratos (Hellenic Chamber of Shipping). And last but not least, Mr. Nigel Lowry (Lloyd's List, Director/Host of Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards, Founder/Director of Greek Shipping Hall of Fame).